PPE Research

The Kellogg Center for Philosophy, Politics, and Economics conducts foundational research in central areas of PPE and collaborates with researches in fields that have social, ethical, economic, and political dimensions.

RESEARCH EXPERTISE. The Center has research strengths in the history of moral, political, and economic thought, the methodology of the social sciences (including the philosophy of economics), formal methods (including rational choice theory), well-being and welfare theory, political economy, distributive justice, public choice, social choice, democratic theory, institutional design, social and economic growth, development, poverty, global justice, and foundational questions of public policy.

Q&A at PPE Lecture Series 

RESEARCH FACULTY. The Center’s core and affiliated faculty bring valuable research expertise from across the globe. In addition to the U.S., our faculty members are from the U.K., Canada, Australia, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, Cyprus, Israel, India, Eastern Europe, Russia, and Central Africa. The Center’s faculty members regularly publish original research in well-respected venues and present their work at professional conferences. Here is more information about the Center’s most recent research.

RELATED DISCIPLINES. The Center maintains relationships with disciplines on campus that work on problems that have social, ethical, economic, and political dimensions. Such disciplines include public and international affairs, business, engineering, geography, agricultural and applied economics, fish and wildlife conservation, and forest resources and environmental conservation

COLLABORATIONS. Due to its broad relevance, the Center has co‑organized and co‑sponsored events with various other units on campus, including the Data and Decisions Destination Area, the Equity and Social Disparity in the Human Condition Strategic Growth Area, the +Policy Destination Area, Adaptive Brain and Behavior Strategic Growth Area, the Center for Humanities, the Department of Science, Technology, and Society, the Alliance for Social, Political, Ethical, and Cultural Thought, the Women’s Center, the Bradley Study Center, and the Global Forum on Urban and Regional Resilience. Please contact the Center to explore opportunities for collaborations.

PPE Core Faculty

Gil Hersch

Assistant Professor
224 Major Williams Hall
Phone: 540-231-4564
hersch@nullvt.edu

/ PPE Expertise

Philosophy of social science, philosophy of economics, well-being theory, economic thought, business ethics, public policy

Michael Moehler

Director, Kellogg Center
233 Major Williams Hall
Phone: 540-231-7543
moehler@nullvt.edu

/ PPE Expertise

Social contract theory, rational choice theory, classical liberalism, political economy, welfare state, distributive justice

Maria Snegovaya

PPE Postdoctoral Fellow
Major Williams Hall
Phone: 540-231-
marias20@nullvt.edu

/ PPE Expertise

Party politics, political behavior, political economy, democratic theory, economic policy, quantitative research methods

Starting in fall 2021

Starting in fall 2021

Starting in fall 2022

PPE Research Fellows

The Center offers fellowships that support interdisciplinary research in PPE and provide scholars with the opportunity to present their work to PPE faculty and students. PPE Research Fellows are active members in the PPE community at Virginia Tech and help to bring new perspectives to the Center through their research, teaching, and outreach. 

Sakshi Upadhyay

Summer Research Fellow
3055 Pamplin Hall
Phone: 540-449-8783
usakshi@nullvt.edu

/ PPE Expertise

Microeconomic theory, game theory, experimental economics, public goods and common goods problems

Coming soon.

Coming soon.

Coming soon.

PPE Affiliated Faculty

Kathy Alexander

Professor
Fish & Wildlife Conservation
kathyalx@nullvt.edu

Eric Bahel

Associate Professor
Economics
erbahel@nullvt.edu

David Bieri

Associate Professor
Urban Affairs and Planning
bieri@nullvt.edu

Daniel Breslau

Associate Professor
STS
dbreslau@nullvt.edu

Mauro Caraccioli

Assistant Professor
Political Science
mauroj@nullvt.edu

Cara Daggett

Assistant Professor
Political Science
cdaggett@nullvt.edu

Claudio D'Amato

PPE Associate
Philosophy
claudio1@nullvt.edu

Adam Dominiak

Associate Professor
Economics
dominiak@nullvt.edu

Michael Ellerbrock

Professor
Ag. & Applied Economics
mebrock@nullvt.edu

Melanie Fox

Assistant Professor
Economics
melaniefox@nullvt.edu

Nicholas Goedert

Assistant Professor
Political Science
ngoedert@nullvt.edu

Hans Haller

Professor
Economics
haller@nullvt.edu

Daniel Hoek

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
daanhoek@nullgmail.com

Justin Horn

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
justinhorn@nullvt.edu

Karen Hult

Professor
Political Science
khult@nullvt.edu

James C. Klagge

Professor
Philosophy
jklagge@nullvt.edu

Matt Kovach

Assistant Professor
Economics
mkovach@nullvt.edu

Karen Kovaka

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
kkovaka@nullvt.edu

Douglas Lind

Professor
Philosophy
douglas.lind@nullvt.edu

Timothy W. Luke

Uni. Distinguished Professor
Political Science
twluke@nullvt.edu

Jordan MacKenzie

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
jmackenzie@nullvt.edu

Deborah Mayo

Professor
Philosophy
mayod@nullvt.edu

Melinda Miller

Assistant Professor
Economics
millermc@nullvt.edu

Wayne Moore

Associate Professor
Political Science
wmoore@nullvt.edu

Scott Nelson

Associate Professor
Political Science
scnelson@nullvt.edu

Greg Novack

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
gmnovack@nullvt.edu

Joseph Pitt

Professor
Philosophy
jcpitt@nullvt.edu

Besnik Pula

Associate Professor
Political Science
bpula@nullvt.edu

Ken Reid

Associate Professor
Engineering Education
kenreid@nullvt.edu

Lynn Resler

Professor
Geography
resler@nullvt.edu

Sudipta Sarangi

Professor
Economics
ssarangi@nullvt.edu

Andrew Scerri

Associate Professor
Political Science
ajscerri@nullvt.edu

Karen Schnatterly

Associate Professor
Management
schnatterlyk@nullvt.edu

Alec Smith

Assistant Professor
Economics
alecsmith@nullvt.edu

Dan Simundza

Research Scientist
Global Forum
simundza@nullusc.edu

Aris Spanos

Professor
Economics
aris@nullvt.edu

Steve Trost

Assistant Professor
Economics
strost@nullvt.edu

Byron Tsang

Associate Professor
Economics
byront@nullvt.edu

Gerelt Tserenjigmid

Assistant Professor
Economics
gerelt@nullvt.edu

Edward Weisband

Professor
Political Science
weisband@nullvt.edu

Donna Wertalik

Professor
Marketing
wertalikd@nullvt.edu

Richard Wokutch

Professor
Management
wokutch@nullvt.edu

Philip Yaure

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
philipyaure@nullvt.edu